Generation Food Truck gathering (Tampa)

Day of the week: Saturday, 2/23
Event: Generation Food Truck gourmet food truck rally

She says:
Generation Food Truck organized a gourmet food truck rally at Broadstone Citrus Village on the 23rd and we just had to go, if only for NYO. This was our first food track rally and it did NOT disappoint.

When we got there, we had to check out all the trucks first. There were so many!
SAMSUNG

We started at NYO. Hubby ordered kangaroo and antelope burgers ($10 each). I ordered the fire roooo (“kangaroo, jalapeno, pepper jack & colby jalapeno cheese,” $13). We got two orders of fries, regular and purple sriracha (“sriracha, blue cheese, bacon fries,” $5 for regular, $6 for purple), plus two orders of hog wild (“Krispy Kreme donut stuffed with wild boar bacon,” $6 each).

While we were waiting for our NYO food to get ready, we went to Renny’s Oki Doki and ordered buta belly (“crispy pork belly with hoisin sauce & daikon slaw,” $6), azama gyoza potstickers (“our handmade, pan seared pork dumplings,” $6 for five pieces), and harumaki “spring rolls” (“hand rolled crispy pork spring rolls,” $5 fr two pieces).

We also stopped at Aloha to Go for a pulled pork sandwich and a sandwich with chicken chunks marinated in a shoyu sauce. The pulled pork sandwich had coleslaw on it. The chicken sandwich had coleslaw and pineapple chunks. I didn’t take a pic of their menu board so I can’t tell you all the specifics or prices but I’m going to guess about $6 for each sandwich.

I also stopped at Wicked ‘Wiches for an order of fried pickles ($6).

We collected our food from the various trucks and headed home.

The NYO food was all fantastic, but Hubby decided he doesn’t like kangaroo as much as antelope. I agree kangaroo can be a little gamey, which is why I got the fire roooo. The spice cancels out the gamey-ness. Both types of fries were great, but I preferred the purple to the regular because the purple fries had some cinnamon sugar on them and it was a great combination of sweet and salty and spicy. The donuts in the hog wild are grilled, which really gives them another dimension. But my bacon was too fatty for me, so I just kind of chewed on it for the smokiness. That’s the risk you take with wild boar bacon. ;-) I highly recommend any and all of NYO’s food. The only limit is your sense of adventure.
Not Your Ordinary Food Truck on Urbanspoon

The Aloha to Go sandwiches were both really good. We decided to get a sandwich after having a sample of their pulled pork, which was soooo good. Smoky and salty. The chicken was a little sweet, and salty, and the pineapple chunks really set it all off. I would absolutely get either (or both!) of these again.

Renny’s Oki Doki … ok, quick story first. There’s a sign under the window that says something like “Ask me how I am today.” I wasn’t going to but when the man (older, Asian) came to the window and said something like “How can I help you?” I reflexively said, “Hi, how’s it going?” And he said, “Oki doki! I have to say that or I have to fire myself” (so I assume he was Renny). ROFL I felt like such a tool. Anyway, the pork belly was really tender and juicy and perfectly cooked. The gyoza and spring rolls were both excellent, as well. I definitely recommend Renny’s.
Renny's Oki Doki on Urbanspoon

My fried pickles ($6) were good but a little too greasy and the breading kept sliding off the pickles. The sauce that came with them was quite tasty but not sure I’d get them again. But Wicked ‘Wiches isn’t a fried pickle food truck, it’s a sandwich food truck, and I would absolutely try other food from them.
Wicked 'Wiches Truck on Urbanspoon

That was an awesome first food truck rally. Generation Food Truck is having another one March 16th at Bearss Grove and we’ll probably check that one out, too.

About twofoodiesinlove

About the couple: We are thirtysomethings. We’ve known each other since 2001 when we were in college together and we got married in 2009. About the wife: She’s been an accountant since 2004 and loves numbers maybe a little too much. She eats and cooks and bakes and drinks and constantly has to watch her weight because of it. About the husband: He’s a government employee… for 9 years… he likes nice people who don’t talk too much and FOOD!!! He’s a fatty who loves beer, wine and clear spirits. He likes to cook, usually stuff that is too hard for him but usually turns out well. he tries to watch his weight as it goes by at the speed of light but can’t seem to see it… oh and he loves the Wifey. she rocks.
This entry was posted in food truck review, Tampa, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Generation Food Truck gathering (Tampa)

  1. Renny Braga says:

    Just found your blog… thank you so much for the nice words about our food. So glad you liked it! Yes, I am the “older, Asian” that came to the window… LOL…. I am Renny and OKI DOKI is my truck. Hope you’ll find us again some time, and check out our facebook page…. http://www.facebook.com/rennysokidoki for our “whereabouts” each week.

Leave a Reply

