Food Truck Rally (Citrus Park)

She says:
On Saturday there was a mini Generation Food Truck rally in Citrus Park at the Cypress Grand apartments (near Sickles). I noticed the lineup included Stone Soup Co. (which I’ve been meaning to try for probably two years) and Alaska Mike’s Yukon Fry Bread (which I have recently become obsessed with trying), so I decided to stop by. I had to go out that way anyway.

I got there a little after 3 pm (rally was noon to 5). The trucks present were Graffeaties, Alaska Mike’s, PAO, Ain’t No Thang, Dub & Jimbo’s, and Stone Soup. I headed to Stone Soup first. Their truck was very nice: electronic menu and some tables and chairs out front.
StoneSouptruck

The sign on the truck said their Cubans had won some awards, so I ordered one ($7 plus tax).

I went to Dub & Jimbo’s next and ordered some fried pickle spears ($7).
DubJimbomenu042713
Dub & Jimbo’s menu on 4/27

Then I headed down to Alaska Mike’s to get into the real fun. I ordered Hubby a chicken taco fry bread ($8) without the black beans, I ordered myself an original taco fry bread ($7.50), I got us a pepperoni pizza fry bread to share ($5), and also ordered a dessert fry bread with Ghiradelli chocolate syrup ($4, your choice of toppings).
AlaskaMikemenu042713
Alaska Mike’s menu on 4/27

Now, what is Yukon fry bread, you’re asking? I don’t know the history of it but here’s what it is when you get it from Alaska Mike’s: a round of fried dough the size of a small dinner plate topped with stuff. It’s FRIED BREAD, people! How could it go wrong?!

While ordering, I asked the gentleman (Alaska Mike, I presume?) about the vegetarian Native American wild rice salad ($5) on their menu. He said he’d give me a sample. Later, when my food was almost ready, they told me they wanted to give us a dessert on the house, so I got the wojapi (Indian bread pudding, $5.50). Alaska Mike’s is a family food truck: dad, mom, and daughter were all working on this particular day. Very nice family!

The wild rice salad was VERY unique. Wild rice, pine nuts, I think some pepitas, some dried fruit (cranberries?), shredded carrots, and chopped green onion in a light dressing, served cold. Saturday was hot and the sun was baking me on the hot pavement, so this really hit the spot while I was waiting. I’m not sure if I could eat a whole lot but it would make a great snack or side. This also indicated to me that they can do more than fry dough.

Once I had collected all my food, I headed home. I got home about an hour before Hubby, so when he got home I put his chicken taco fry bread, the pizza, and the Cuban in the oven to reheat.

Despite the fact that I hadn’t told Alaska Mike’s to hold the lettuce, tomatoes, hominy salsa, chipotle ranch, or sour cream on Hubby’s chicken taco fry bread…he LOVED it! (If he had ordered it himself it probably would’ve been bread, meat, cheese. Oy.) The pizza was also really delish. Glad we got that, too.

Stone Soup’s Cuban was pretty frickin’ phenomenal. I think they deserved their awards. The fillings were fresh, the middle was gooey with mayo and mustard, and the sandwich was perfectly pressed. (It also came with a little container of sauce that I totally forgot to try because the sandwich was so good.) I highly recommend Stone Soup’s Cuban and will get it again. Hubby was also a fan.
The Stone Soup Company on Urbanspoon

Next I heated up the dessert fry bread for dessert. That was really tasty, too. Kind of like flat funnel cake. We would get that again, too.

The next night I had my taco fry bread and pickles for dinner (also reheated in the oven – please don’t reheat fried foods in the microwave). The pickles were pretty good. I liked them better than the ones from Wicked ‘Wiches. The smoked bacon ranch dipping sauce that came with them was really good. My taco fry bread was AWESOME. The bread is topped with “seasoned ground beef, oven refried beans, topped with lettuce, tomato, cheese, salsa, and sour cream.” The beef was awesome (not greasy, good flavor), as were the beans (which I’m kind of picky about). All of the flavors went together perfectly and it’s especially impressive that it reheated so well. Absolutely none of Alaska Mike’s food was greasy, despite the bread being fried. I could tell the oil was fresh and clean, too.

Last night I had to wojapi, which is fry bread cut into pieces, dusted with powdered sugar, and served with berry compote. Really, really loved this. The berry compote was a little tart and really fresh. I would love that in a cobbler!
Alaska Mike's Yukon Fry Bread on Urbanspoon

I absolutely recommend both Stone Soup and Alaska Mike’s. I haven’t had enough of Dub & Jimbo’s to recommend them but I am going to try them again.

About twofoodiesinlove

About the couple: We are thirtysomethings. We’ve known each other since 2001 when we were in college together and we got married in 2009. About the wife: She’s been an accountant since 2004 and loves numbers maybe a little too much. She eats and cooks and bakes and drinks and constantly has to watch her weight because of it. About the husband: He’s a government employee… for 9 years… he likes nice people who don’t talk too much and FOOD!!! He’s a fatty who loves beer, wine and clear spirits. He likes to cook, usually stuff that is too hard for him but usually turns out well. he tries to watch his weight as it goes by at the speed of light but can’t seem to see it… oh and he loves the Wifey. she rocks.
This entry was posted in food truck review, Tampa, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

