Datz Dough (Tampa)

Datz Dough on Urbanspoon

Dough on Foodio54

Day of the Week: Saturday, 5/18
Total Bill: $24.99 (before tip)
Breakdown: 3 doughnuts, 1 pastry, 2 lattes
Verdict: Innovative and fun.

She says:
Mom and I stopped in mid-afternoon for dessert after lunching at Piquant and doing a little shopping in Hyde Park. I have been DYING to try a bacon latte and one of their doughnuts but it’s tough for me to get down that way. After this visit, I can tell you I’m going to MAKE time for Dough.

So, before I get into the food, let me share a funny store with you. My spatial skills suck. I’ve known it since the first IQ test I took when I was 7 years old. Parking at Datz/Dough is tricky. If you don’t valet, you have very limited parking options out front, with very limited room to maneuver. I was coming in at a weird angle and couldn’t figure out how to pull into this parking space, so Mom says, “Just back in.” I’m like, what planet are you from that you think I can do this?! She said, “I’ll talk you through it.” And she did! I backed in so straight and even, you’d think I had eyes in the back of my head. I told her, “Look at that, Mom – you’re still teaching me how to drive.”

Anyway, we went inside and the place is just so cute and funky and fun and awesome. It’s like childhood exploded in a bakery but in a really elegant way. There are two cases and a counter full of pastries when you first walk in, plus a case of gelato around the corner. So many yummy things to choose from!

Dough was empty when we walked in, so Gary was able to spend a little time telling us about the various pastries and helping us choose. He was so helpful; he truly wanted us to have a great experience. I got a chocolate cake doughnut with chocolate frosting and Mom got a lemon doughnut. She ordered a regular latte and I had a bacon latte. For later, she got a brioche puff and I got a maple bacon egg custard doughnut for Hubby and me to share. (Unfortunately, I didn’t keep my detailed receipt so I don’t know how much each item was.)

We sat down with our pastries and Gary brought our coffees out a couple minutes later. Mom proclaimed her latte to be the best she ever had: smooth with an excellent ratio of coffee and milk. My latte was also delicious, I just wish it was heavier on the bacon!

The doughnuts were fabulous. Mom doesn’t usually order lemon stuff but Gary told her it was awesome and the last one left that day. She thought, if it’s the last one they must be good to sell out. And it was phenomenal. My chocolate doughnut was also fabulous. Not too sweet and super fresh. What a difference high-quality ingredients make!

Hubby ate half of the maple bacon doughnut that night. He loved it but wished it had “shredded bacon inside.” (He’s a bacon fanatic.) I ate my half the next day and I was floored. What an amazing pastry! It was doughnut as art. I’m dying for another one. (Guess it’s a good thing Dough isn’t closer to my house.)

The only disappointment was Mom’s brioche puff, which was a layer of cream sandwiched between two layers of brioche pastry. I didn’t try it but she said it was too dry and she wouldn’t get it again.

Dough is really awesome. (This was another place Mom said she’d have to make time for when going to south Tampa for appointments.) I thought 25 bucks was totally reasonable for four pastries and two (huge) lattes. We’re very eager to go back to try more delicious goodies!

About twofoodiesinlove

About the couple: We are thirtysomethings. We’ve known each other since 2001 when we were in college together and we got married in 2009. About the wife: She’s been an accountant since 2004 and loves numbers maybe a little too much. She eats and cooks and bakes and drinks and constantly has to watch her weight because of it. About the husband: He’s a government employee… for 9 years… he likes nice people who don’t talk too much and FOOD!!! He’s a fatty who loves beer, wine and clear spirits. He likes to cook, usually stuff that is too hard for him but usually turns out well. he tries to watch his weight as it goes by at the speed of light but can’t seem to see it… oh and he loves the Wifey. she rocks.
This entry was posted in dessert, restaurant review, Tampa, unique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Datz Dough (Tampa)

  1. Do you have any pictures from Dough? I want to know more about the chocolate donut! Was it cake or yeast? What would you try next time?

    • I tried to take pics when we were at Dough but I’m a terrible photographer! The chocolate donut was cake. Mom’s lemon donut and the maple bacon donut were both yeast. I really like both but at a lot of places cake donuts are too dry, but Dough’s are AWESOME. Their plain cake donut is just amazing. I don’t understand how something so simple can be so delicious!

Leave a Reply

