Piquant (Tampa)

Piquant on Urbanspoon

Day of the Week: Saturday, 5/18
Total Bill: $38.95 (before tip)
Breakdown: 1 salad, 2 sandwiches, 2 iced teas
Verdict: Unique and delicious café.

She says:
Piquant first came to my attention through Dishcrawl. Someone blogged a review of the Hyde Park Dishcrawl (sorry, I can’t remember who it was!) and the Piquant part really stood out for me. I knew I had to try it… but when? Hyde Park is kind of a hike from my house. And I don’t usually go out to eat without Hubby, and our schedules don’t line up in a way that we could go to Hyde Park together. Well, some stars aligned and I ended up needing a nice little lunch spot for my mom and me. I thought, Piquant with shopping in Hyde Park afterward!

I made 12:30 reservations for us through Urbanspoon (so convenient). We got there about 10 minutes late but the restaurant wasn’t full so we were seated right away. Our server, Shannon, came over right away to get our drink order: peach iced tea, unsweet ($2.95 each). Delicious tea. Nice and strong with a fresh, natural peach flavor.

The restaurant is bigger than I expected with a large patio, decorated in a modern, playful black and white color palette. The décor has a Parisian vibe without being stuffy. It’s also much cleaner, newer, and comfortable than any café or brasserie in Paris I remember.

One of the weekend specials was a watercress salad with watermelon, cucumber, and feta ($8), which we knew we had to try. Mom and I decided to get one to share as a starter. She ordered a roast beef sandwich ($13, comes with fries) and I ordered a croque madame (usually $9 – I asked for tomato on mine, which is a $.50 upcharge).

The salad was a very decent size. It probably had six or eight watermelon balls, about a dozen cucumber slices, and plenty of watercress and feta. For lunch, sharing one between the two of us was plenty. The salad was so fresh and cold, just what we needed on a hot day. The components of this salad really complemented each other beautifully. I hope Piquant features this again throughout the summer.

Our sandwiches came out shortly after we finished the salad. Mom’s roast beef sandwich, on a baguette, was served with a huge basket of fries, which was plenty for both of us to share. I took a fry: very crisp and tasty. My sandwich rivaled any croque madame I had in Paris. And it was huge, too.

We passed on dessert because we were going to Dough later (more on that to come…) but their dessert selection did look quite yummy, as did their coffees.

We both really loved this place and are eager to go back. Mom said she’s going to try to plan her south Tampa appointments so she can stop in there for a bite. I don’t know what my excuse will be but I’ll find something!

About twofoodiesinlove

About the couple: We are thirtysomethings. We’ve known each other since 2001 when we were in college together and we got married in 2009. About the wife: She’s been an accountant since 2004 and loves numbers maybe a little too much. She eats and cooks and bakes and drinks and constantly has to watch her weight because of it. About the husband: He’s a government employee… for 9 years… he likes nice people who don’t talk too much and FOOD!!! He’s a fatty who loves beer, wine and clear spirits. He likes to cook, usually stuff that is too hard for him but usually turns out well. he tries to watch his weight as it goes by at the speed of light but can’t seem to see it… oh and he loves the Wifey. she rocks.
This entry was posted in restaurant review, Tampa and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Piquant (Tampa)

  1. Pingback: Datz Dough (Tampa) | twofoodiesinlove

  2. Reagan Taylor says:

    I believe that their kitchen staff must all be culinary degree’d. That implies everything is fresh from the start. No short cuts or secrets, which is what we don’t get enough of. Some claim it and many eateries in town don’t live by their word. Piquant is a simple pleasure for us. I enjoyed your post.

Leave a Reply

