Datz – dinner (Tampa)

Datz Tampa on Urbanspoon

Day of the Week: Monday, 9/17
Total Bill: $141.25 (before tip)
Breakdown: 2 glasses of wine, 1 martini, 3 beers, 3 appetizers, 1 sandwich with fries ($2 upcharge), 1 flatbread, 2 desserts
Verdict: Dinner was as solid as brunch.

Yes, we went two days in a row. What does that tell you?

This was our first dinner visit and we had such a good time. We met up with friends who had never been before. We were seated upstairs this time and discovered that Datz is deceptively large! Apparently some online reviews have claimed the upstairs is hot but that was not our experience and my husband is ALWAYS hot.

Our server, James, was nice but totally unprepared for our gluttony, which started when four people ordered four appetizers, including the monster-sized Datchos ($9). I can’t eat those kinds of chips anymore (made in-house, by the way) because of an unfortunate food-poisoning episode in Las Vegas but I tried one for research’s sake and they were very well executed. My hubby ordered a cheese and charcuterie plate ($18 with five cheeses), which I didn’t try, and truffle fries ($9). I don’t want to know what they fry their fries in but they are so crispy and amazing it can’t be good for you. My friend and I got fried oysters ($11) to share and they were really delicious! He’s from Mississippi near the coast and he remarked that the oysters tasted like the Gulf. As we were wrapping up those appetizers, we ordered the mac & cheese bites ($8). Yes, a fifth appetizer. You just can’t go to Datz and not have the mac & cheese bites. (On our bill we paid for the cheese plate, the truffle fries, and the mac & cheese bites. Our friends paid for the Datchos and oysters.)

For dinner, my hubby had the piggy flatbread ($11) and I had Roger’s rockin reuben ($13). The reuben was really good, just not messy enough. More cheese and dressing! They do get points, though, for making a sandwich that can actually be picked up and eaten. Most places overload their sandwiches to the point that they disintegrate and you have to eat them with a knife and fork, one of my true pet peeves. All of Datz sandwiches come with their chips drizzled with a blue cheese sauce and, as mentioned before, I can’t eat that kind of thing anymore. So I substituted fries and they were so good I actually refused an offer of ketchup.

Accompanying my starters and sandwich I had a red wine blend that was $7 a glass and pretty good. A little more jammy than I usually prefer but for $7 I won’t complain too much. My hubby hates most of my wine selections but I like to try new stuff, especially blends. For years all he drank was California cabs and chardonnays and some occasional champagne. To his credit, he now drinks syrah more often and loves Kim Crawford pinot noir.

For dessert, I had a smashing pumpkin martini ($10). I don’t usually drink sweet cocktails or anything with milk in it but it seemed like a good dessert choice and I would highly recommend it. It tasted a lot like pumpkin eggnog, just not as thick or egg-ish (which makes sense because there’s no egg in the drink). My only complaint is that the menu said it comes with a gingersnap rim but neither my nor my friend’s drinks came with it. Datz does serve their martinis really well, though. They fill the glass up about 75% and put the rest of your martini in a little carafe, then put the carafe in a bigger glass filled with ice water so it stays cold.

After my martini I got a cup of coffee while we chatted and paid our bills. The coffee was pretty solid: strong enough but not bitter. I was impressed that I didn’t have to ask for a second cup, it just magically appeared.

We really enjoyed our first dinner visit and our friends seemed to like it, too. I’m sure we’ll go back for dinner again.

He says:
For apps I had a cheese and charcuterie plate, with three cheeses and two meats. I had a blue, cheddar and triple cream brie, which were all good. For the meets I had Serrano ham and salami. The ham was just so-so… it was a little too tough and stringy for me. The salami was very good, a little dry with a great amount of spiciness. We also had the mac and cheese balls again, they were still good! Also got the truffle fries! Best fries ever! I loved them. Super truffley and crispy. One of my favorite things of the night.

For dinner I had the piggy flat bread. It was good if you were in the mood for pizza. I was expecting more of a flat bread with not as much sauce. It was a little too salty but very good. I would order it again.

For drinks I had several pints of beer. They had Oskar Blues Ten Fidy pints for $6. WHAT!!! Ten Fidy for 6 bucks! That crazy! I had two of those, a Southern Tier Pumpking, and a Chimay Blue. All very good!

Overall a very good meal. I definitely want to go back, I love this place and their awesome menu!

About twofoodiesinlove

About the couple: We are thirtysomethings. We’ve known each other since 2001 when we were in college together and we got married in 2009. About the wife: She’s been an accountant since 2004 and loves numbers maybe a little too much. She eats and cooks and bakes and drinks and constantly has to watch her weight because of it. About the husband: He’s a government employee… for 9 years… he likes nice people who don’t talk too much and FOOD!!! He’s a fatty who loves beer, wine and clear spirits. He likes to cook, usually stuff that is too hard for him but usually turns out well. he tries to watch his weight as it goes by at the speed of light but can’t seem to see it… oh and he loves the Wifey. she rocks.
This entry was posted in craft beer, great value, restaurant review, Tampa, unique. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

