The Refinery – brunch (Tampa)

The Refinery on Urbanspoon

Day of the Week: Sunday, 10/14
Total Bill: $55.64 (before tip)
Breakdown: 2 drinks, 1 beer, 1 coffee, 2 entrees, 1 side of bacon, 3 biscuits on the side
Verdict: Awesome brunch option if you’re tired of French toast and eggs benedict (or even if you’re not!).

She says:
I LOVE Sunday brunch and since Hubby’s schedule was about to change in a way that would make Sunday brunch unlikely, I decided we should check out The Refinery’s brunch. My mouth is watering thinking about it.

As before, our server was friendly and attentive. When we sat down, I ordered a cup of coffee ($3) to get me going for the day and Hubby ordered a ManMosa ($8), which is just a big mimosa served in a mason jar. I’m not sure what they do to their coffee but it may be the best cup of coffee I ever had. It’s very nutty and smooth. Before my meal came, I finished off Hubby’s ManMosa so he could drink his Bell’s Cherry Stout ($5, draft), then I had a ManMosa of my own. (Side note: that stout wasn’t so good when we had it in the bottle but it was delicious on draft. I’m not a real big stout drinker but I would definitely get a glass of that.)

For my meal, I ordered the Daddy’s Favorite ($9), which was two biscuits, halved, sausage gravy, scrambled organic eggs, and roasted potatoes. I was a little trepid about the whole thing. First of all, my mom makes the world’s best biscuits and gravy, hands down. Second, scrambled eggs at restaurants are usually too runny or overdone. Third, I don’t really dig roasted potatoes. (I thought about asking for cheesy grits instead but I had to draw the unhealthy-food line somewhere).

I had no reason to worry. The biscuits were so similar to my mom’s, I almost got confused. The sausage gravy was different than hers but still excellent, mostly because it wasn’t too salty. The sausage in the gravy is pretty salty to begin with, and then a lot of cooks (both home and restaurant) add more salt! But The Refinery showed restraint and I appreciated that. The eggs were perfectly done, and the potatoes were the best roasted potatoes I’ve ever had. There was nothing exotic in them, just potato cubes and onions. But they were really awesome.

I tried a bite of Hubby’s Dirty South Benedict ($10), which is a big piece of cornbread topped with pulled pork, two poached eggs, Bernaise aioli, served with a side of potatoes or grits. (It usually comes topped with creamed spinach or kale but Hubby hates green things, so he had them leave it off.) This was phenomenal and I would probably get that next time (with the green things). (Hubby also had a side of bacon, $3, and three biscuits, $2 each.)

The Refinery’s brunch menu is as inventive as their dinner menu, so check it out if you’re a brunch lover.

About twofoodiesinlove

About the couple: We are thirtysomethings. We’ve known each other since 2001 when we were in college together and we got married in 2009. About the wife: She’s been an accountant since 2004 and loves numbers maybe a little too much. She eats and cooks and bakes and drinks and constantly has to watch her weight because of it. About the husband: He’s a government employee… for 9 years… he likes nice people who don’t talk too much and FOOD!!! He’s a fatty who loves beer, wine and clear spirits. He likes to cook, usually stuff that is too hard for him but usually turns out well. he tries to watch his weight as it goes by at the speed of light but can’t seem to see it… oh and he loves the Wifey. she rocks.
This entry was posted in great for vegetarians, great value, restaurant review, Tampa, unique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

